Alice Dawnay

Founder & CEO

Monique Williams

Head of Delivery

Blaise Boulton

Switchback Mentor

Sarah Dedola

Switchback Mentor

Raphael Duyile

Junior Switchback Mentor

Maddy Leftwich

Switchback Mentor

Jason Chin Headshot

Jason Chin

Junior Switchback Mentor

Nadia Taylor

Event Manager

Linda Craig

Interim Head of Finance and Operations

Hayley Topley

Head of Fundraising

Sam Boyd

Head of Policy, Impact & Communications

Benoît Grogan-Avignon

Communications Coordinator

Lauren Trew

Data and Impact Coordinator

Lily Sullivan

Office Manager


Ben Summerskill was, at 25, Operations Director of a London restaurant business serving 14,000 meals a week. He then enjoyed a Fleet Street career, latterly as Assistant Editor of the Observer. From 2003-2014 he was CEO of Stonewall and from 2015-2018 Director of the Criminal Justice Alliance. He’s also a member of the Board of ACAS and the Honours Committee for the Voluntary Sector.

Edward Mackaness was appointed to the Trustee board in September 2011. A qualified surveyor, Edward first came into contact with Switchback when helping us negotiate our office move. Having served with the Brigade of Gurkhas in the Far East, Edward moved on to hold senior management roles at Credit Suisse, BT and Prudential. After three years as a management consultant at Ernst & Young, he is currently Associate Director for Business Services at the law firm, Allen & Overy LLP.

Dan Houghton began his career as a management consultant with Bain & Company in San Francisco, where he advised clients in technology and private equity. He then joined Quid, a big data startup in San Francisco, as an early employee, building out their commercial organisation and opening their New York and London offices. He is now with Google, where he helps to lead strategy for their cloud computing business in EMEA. He holds a degree in Economics & Environmental Science from Duke University.

Duncan Shrubsole observed Switchback emerge and grow while working at Crisis where he led its policy, communications and research for 9 years. He is passionate about the role of charities in changing lives and public policy and is now Director of Policy Communications and Partnerships at the Lloyds Bank Foundation for England and Wales. He started his career in local government and the civil service and is a school governor in South East London.

Katharine Danton started her career as an academic researcher and then headed up the Research and Evaluation department at The Prince’s Trust. After three years as an independent consultant for charities and government agencies, working on performance frameworks, feasibility studies and organisational change. She is now a Founding Consultant at PurposetoImpact, delivering a range of services for charities, social enterprise and foundations.

Katie Beck began her career in the corporate finance division of Lazard and moved into private equity in 2005. She worked as a member of the investment teams at Doughty Hanson & Co and Darwin Private Equity LLP before moving to August Equity LLP in 2015, where she is now responsible for portfolio performance and monitoring. Katie joined the Switchback Trustee Board in 2008 and became Chair in 2015. She holds a degree in Philosophy and Economics from the London School of Economics.

Olivia Gillan-Bower has spent most of her career in strategy consulting, notably at PwC where she was a Partner specialising in the retail/leisure/consumer sectors. She is now focused on the not for profit sector, acting as a Trustee for Little Village and the Mark Anthony Trust as well as volunteering as an Interview Coach at Smart Works. She also serves as a Magistrate in London.

Simon Eyers studied Electrical Engineering at Edinburgh in the 1980’s. He then went onto become a banker at SG Warburg, Goldman Sachs & Credit Suisse, before setting out on his own in 2000. Simon is now a private equity investor at Warburg Pincus.


Alison Flynn
Andrew Strachan
Andrew Robinson MBE
Anna Yearley
HH Judge Daniel Worsley (Ret.)
Sir David Bell
General Sir David Ramsbotham
Ed Wethered

Emma Bell
Gilbert Holbourn
Hugh Fearnley-Whittingstall
Jim Narey
John Podmore
Leah Selinger
Lizzie Day
Louis Steyn
Mr Gee

Pamela Dow
Rachel Gill
Richard Hurst
Richard Springer
Roma Hooper OBE
Sophie Samuel
Slaney Wright
Teresa Meek
Wayne Hodges




Michael M

Michael U